when you delete a post, the originals of any images it contains are no longer stored. at that point the resized versions of that image gradually fall out of the global CDN caches, just the same way they gradually fall out of client (e.g. browser) caches.
and far more gradually out of the saved images folders & cloud backups of the hellthread lurkers 🤣
More notes on nearby ideas
Reply · Apr 24, 2023yeah but the level of accessibility to scroll back and find the post that's upsetting... I have piles of screenshots bec otherwise I get upset when I…Reply · Dec 14, 2023@StevieKomputer @lumpenspace wise. i've done my best to mute but this one slipped past my filters... and that particular image has been posted to…Reply · Apr 21, 2023haha yeah deletes break threads in a super annoying way here, it doesn't show that it was deleted it just makes everything below it look like a…Reply · May 23, 2023awww thanks! I mean reposts are the least bad bec the content isn't gone just the thread gets broken if you wait till there are replies